NaNoWriMo 2013 Second Week

The second week of National Novel Writing Month is over, and I’m moving into the third with less than 18,000 words.

This past week has been full of reminders, such as:

  • I’m an intuitive person and should trust my intuition. When I start writing a scene that feels right, chances are, I’ll see why it’s right once I’ve finished. Stopping to analyze the scene halfway through only wastes time. Similarly, trying to push past a feeling that a scene is wrong will usually create a writing block. A blank mind is worthless when writing.
  • I can’t inflate the word count much. Some NaNoWriMo participants purposefully write nonsense or copy and paste passages to meet daily word count goals. I remember using complicated syntax to elongate sentences, avoiding contractions, and adding dialogue tags at almost every opportunity when I participated in NaNoWriMo 2009. Tricks like those are of little use to me now that I’m no longer willing to litter my work with junk that will be difficult to clean up later.
  • Research takes time away from writing. However, without it, a scene might limp along for a want of the details that would make it complete. For my next NaNoWriMo, I’ll dedicate October to research and brainstorming, so they don’t slow me down as much.
  • NaNoWriMo encourages bad life habits. I’ve been staying up late, eating Halloween candy that I would otherwise be ignoring, and losing track of how much caffeine I’ve consumed. Thank goodness I’m no longer nursing.
  • Weaving is hard. I like to have multiple conflict threads going at one time, but I’m not terribly skilled at working them together.

Exhaustion is kicking in, and I wonder if anything will happen with this story in December. Still, this project seems like a worthy learning experience.

We’ll see how the third week goes.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013 Second Week”

  1. Don’t give up! I would say if anything change the goal from 50k words to finishing your story. Not only is seeing a story through its entire arc and to completion is much more rewarding than any word count. After all, 50k filled with meaningless words is rubbish. Good luck!

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog and providing encouragement! This week has been more rougher, but I’m still progressing. I’ll post my status tomorrow, in case you’d like an update.

      1. Were you going to post it on your blog? And don’t worry about the encouragement! I just want other writers to know that someone out there is rooting for them! Try getting that dedicated time (easier said than done, I’m afraid) and you could smash out the word count!

        Also don’t worry about research, write first, make it credible later!

  2. Oh, it’s so hard not to research. My understanding of something in the scene affects how the entire scene goes. Everything can change. It’s incredible.

    I will post my results of NaNoWriMo; I’ll probably keep the story to myself for a while. I know it’s becoming a more popular option, but it’s just too weird for me to post a novel online.

Comments are closed.