Cool Down from the Summer of Sci-Fi

Hello! I’m alive and kicking. I’m anxious about blogging again; however, it’s officially autumn and time to talk about the results of my Summer of Sci-Fi.

Back in May, I chose nine, well-known science fiction books to read by the end of September. How did I do?

I faced a couple unexpected challenges, mainly with acquiring books. My city’s sole library announced that it’s infested with bed bugs, making all of its books, in my mind, potential carriers of the parasite.

There’s a library near where I work that has a surprisingly tiny offering of science fiction. Even when I was able to walk (despite a sprained ankle) and willing to pass by the disturbing regulars in the area – such as bored cat-callers with uncomfortably creative pick-up lines; lonely, drifting, drunken men who mistake my wary smile for an invitation to converse; and those especially annoying people who enjoy smoking on busy, public sidewalks – I still wasn’t able to get my hands on a few of the books from my list.

Fortunately, I did read:

Out of these, Fahrenheit 451 is easily my favorite, followed closely by A Canticle for Leibowitz. The Time Machine is probably the least impressive of the group–but then, I’m not fond of Victorian stories.

Still to be read:

The Forever War is next on my reading list, if I can find a convenient copy this week.

How about you? What was your favorite book this summer? Are you looking forward to reading a particular book this season?

3 thoughts on “Cool Down from the Summer of Sci-Fi

  1. I can recommend Haldeman’s Forever War, and the rest of the series as well. I looked you up because a long time ago you posted on my blog regarding some 3D renders I was making using Google Sketchup for my sci-fi novel. Well, it only took 2 years, but I have some up, as well as the cover for the novel I made them for. Thanks for your post way back when; it was encouraging to see that at least one person in the world caught my blog. Thanks for the feedback, and if you care to check out the renders you can see them at:
    http://rekroom.wordpress.com/images-and-models/

    Thanks again, and enjoy your book list; I’ve read many of them and they’re all great!

    Ryan

Leave a Reply

