Links: Starships and Striped Critters

What do space travel and striped mammals have to do with each other? They’re both awesome, of course!

Raccoon-like Animals

Everyone knows what a raccoon (Procyon lotor) is, right? Here are couple of similar animals that aren’t as well known.

Raccoon dog タヌキ Nyctereutes procyonoides


These canines that are known as tanuki in Japan are mentioned in various anime, but until a few weeks ago, I thought they were entirely fictional. Cute, aren’t they?

Closer to (my) home…

Ring-tailed Cat / Miner’s Cat (Bassariscus astutus)


My family once encountered a ring-tailed cat alongside a rural street when I was a teenager. We studied it for several, surreal minutes while it considered us from a tree limb. We had no idea what it was. I remember digging for weeks until learning these relatives to the raccoon are a rarely-seen native (to Oregon).

Space Travel

Someone shared a link on the Hatrack River forums to a comparison Website of Starship Dimensions. If you’re  a fan of any science fiction shows set in space, then trust me that you will enjoy this site. Don’t overlook the horizontal scrollbar.

What good are starships without destination stars? Topics in Astronomy, by Harry Foundalis includes a comparison of actual star sizes, temperature classification, and their estimated proximity to us. This site requires more brainpower and a difficult trick with the eyes to appreciate fully.

HD Video Comparing Star Sizes

2 thoughts on “Links: Starships and Striped Critters

  1. OMG! I love ringtailed cats. (of course). When I was a kid I was convinced I’d have one of those as a companion one day, and it would sleep in my room at the foot of my bed. Ahh…so young…so much imagination. =)

    1. Hi, Lyndsie! Your comment went to my Spam folder, so I didn’t see it until now. Do you remember how you learned about ring-tailed cats? Most people have never heard of them.

Leave a Reply

