More News of WotF Q4

My letter arrived in the mail yesterday.

For readers who don’t know, each Writers of the Future entrant who isn’t flat-out rejected is either an Honorable Mention, Semifinalist, Finalist, or Winner.

All winning stories are published in the year’s anthology. Some finalists are also published. Semifinalists receive a critique from the Coordinating Judge, KD Wentworth. Those who receive honorable mentions (an estimated 5 to 15 percent of entrants) get the satisfaction of knowing they impressed Ms. Wentworth.

So, how did I do? Not very well. For my first entry into the contest, I received a rejection.

The story I’m working on now for the Second Quarter (Q2) of 2011 will likely be rejected, because it breaks several writing guidelines. Perhaps I’ll see my name on a list for Q3.

Another Hatracker is on the list of Finalists! I didn’t recognize Patrick O’Sullivan of Virginia the other day, but I wish him the best of luck.

