Shadow’s Second Year in Review

Yellow Fireworks - Click for source

This blog is two years old!

For last year’s anniversary, I posted blog statistics and blogging goals for 2010. How did the second year compare to the second? Let’s find out.

Posts: 45
(13 fewer than in 2009)

Comments: 230
(95 more than in 2009 — Thank you, readers!)

Total Views: 3,730
(about 870 more than 2009)
Most Views in a Month: 354 in March
(96 more than September 2009)
Most Views in a Day: 40 on August 22
(6 more than on September 8, 2009)

Most Viewed Posts from 2010:
The First Letter of Character Names

Are Non-Genre Authors Slow? (Parts I and II)
The Hero vs. the Main Character

Terms Bringing in the Most Traffic:
bliaut / surcoat and similar terms took about 90 visitors to Glimpse
writing on mirror / mirror writing / writing in condensation
(for How to Fight Writer’s Block With a Mirror)
variations of “forever by judy blume”
(for The Elusive Definition of a Young Adult Novel)

Like last year, the tags on images brought in most of the traffic from external searches. I still wonder if this is problematic for visitors.

Visitors wanting to know a way or reason for writing on a mirror might find useful information in my post. Unfortunately, visitors won’t find on Shadows any sewing instructions, history, or descriptions of medieval garments (such as a bliaut and surcoat) nor  a review of Judy Blume’s novel Forever…yet.

Goals: “My goals for 2010 include convincing more people to subscribe–
Fast and easy! Click on the button now!–
posting more consistently, and presenting readers with something useful in every post.”

Did I meet these goals? Yes, no, and not as much as desired.

I won’t set goals for 2011, because there’s too much uncertainty. Blogging is low on a long list of priorities list. Instead of guessing at what I can accomplish for the year, I’ll concentrate on private, monthly goals.

Do you have any suggestions for me or advice for bloggers/writers in general? Now is a great time to speak up.

Monday’s Topic: Review of yWriter Software

One thought on “Shadow’s Second Year in Review

  1. Congratulations on blogging through another year!

    I too feel sorry for some that Google sends my way. I can tell by their search terms they must have been disappointed with the post they were directed to.

    I don’t use tags on images. I go further and use image names that would not likely be a search term. But I do try to use as many post tags as applicable. My posts are now immediately listed by Google, so I’d rather have real potential readers sent to my blog.

    I don’t really have any advice, except maybe keeping to a more or less regular schedule.

    Good luck in 2011, Ann!

Comments are closed.