Living and Writing Through the Holidays

It’s December and time for an update!

Employment

Since my last post, I said good-bye to my wonderful coworkers at my temporary job, agonized through a week and a half of unemployment, and then accepted a permanent full-time job–directly across the street from my previous office.

Thanksgiving Day Guests and Thoughts

Thanksgiving Turkey
CC by tuchodi

My mom, aunt, sister, and brother-in-law visited for Thanksgiving Day and related activities.

While they were here, they reminded me that all of the house is usable space. Certain areas such as the “living room” are rarely used. Guests want to see and use every area they can, but we usually stuck to the four most important rooms: the “library”, kitchen, bathroom, and primary bedroom.

Oddly, we don’t own a large home; we just spend most of our time on the computer or out of the house. For example, I’m away for my paying job more than I’m at home, even counting hours of sleep.

Relief and Accolade from the SCA

I enthusiastically handed my position in the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA) over to a friend. Later that day, my baron and baroness (the ceremonial heads of our local group) awarded me for “outstanding service to the barony, above and beyond that normally expected.”

‘Tis the Season

My pets got sick from an annual trip to the vets, I got sick from my new coworkers, and my husband is currently dealing with a cold. Treat this as a reminder to stay healthy, please!

Writing

The free writing software yWriter is helping me to identify and correct the gaps in DeCo. Look here for my review of yWriter in a few weeks.

Short stories went on the back burner this month. I only managed to produce a couple pages for a fantasy undergoing a rewrite. My goal is to complete the current version this week and immediately give it to a test reader. Maybe it will make the 2011 first quarter deadline for the Writers of the Future (WOTF) contest.

By the way, the contest director probably won’t start announcing the WOTF fourth quarter results until after New Year’s.

~

Watch the sky on the start of Tuesday, December 21 for an early morning eclipse (link to Science Daily article) of a full moon. Happy Yule!

4 thoughts on “Living and Writing Through the Holidays

  1. I’ve been with a gastro this weekend – the warning came a few days too late!! Every year for me at this time, sick. Hope this is it for the month, it’s the second one!! grrr
    I look forward to your review, Ann. So many writing tools out there- I’ve never taken advantage of any.
    Good luck with your writing. I hope you make your goal.

    1. Oh, no! I hope you’re feeling better now and will feel great all winter long.

      The short story is giving me trouble (again). I’ve rewritten it so many times that I can no longer remember what’s in the current draft and what isn’t. Fortunately, I have a couple more days to meet my goal.

  2. Nice to catch up with your news, Ann. Writing through the holidays isn’t an easy thing to do. I’m hoping to get a bit done, but I don’t have any grand expectations.

    Best of luck with reaching your goal!

Leave a Reply

