No NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo 2010You’ve probably heard of National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.  Thousands of novelists and would-be novelists rise to the writing challenge that officially takes place in November every year.

I participated fully in NaNoWriMo 2008 and attempted to modify the challenge in 2009. Both times helped me stifle self-doubt long enough to develop ideas and transfer difficult scenes to black and white.

By December 2008, I had drafted a prequel to RITN, and at the end of AnNoWriMo 2009, I had written roughly 100 new pages for DeCo.

Despite the benefits–as might have been obvious by now–I am not participating this year. Not only do I still need to finish the two novels that should have been done, uh, a while ago, but I’m still looking for permanent employment while commuting every day to a full-time job, helping my husband with martial arts programs, filling a baronial officer position in the Society for Creative Anachronism, and attempting to help with housework. Somewhere in each day, I must also squeeze in the little but essential tasks of sleeping, eating, etc.

Attempting NaNoWriMo would probably kill me.

So, I remind myself that there’s always next year and wish all participants the best of luck. Happy writing!

4 thoughts on “No NaNoWriMo

  1. Heh I TOTALLY agree! I’m writing little bits here and there but my schedule is too crazy to devote time every day for 1,667 words. Plus I’ve been also doing my green blog, and hey, that’s writing right? (also, right now, I have a hard enough time getting in a day’s work…LOL). Still though, good luck on the writing you do do and on all the other stuff too!

    1. Thank you, Lyndsie! I always appreciate a little support.

      You’re right that blogging is writing, and I know you have two blogs to maintain. By the way, I’ve been meaning to link to your fiction blog. Is that okay?

  2. I never attempt NaNoWriMo because I know I wouldn’t have the time. November is always a crazy month for me. I admire those who are able to commit to it and meet the deadline.. That’s not me, however.

    1. Some of the people who commit to NaNoWriMo year after year seem to make arrangements with their employers, family, and friends. The whole month turns into an intense pseudo-retreat for them. Not everyone can do that, but it’s interesting to hear about the experiences of people who can.

      Maybe next year will provide an opportunity for both of us to participate, Laura.

Leave a Reply

