Ramble

Miss me yet? I’ve considered filming a video blog post under the assumption that rattling off an update takes less time than writing a decent post. Unfortunately, I’m not all that familiar with transferring video to the Internet.

Here’s the written equivalent to my video ramble.

I’m staying busy by helping my husband and pets, handling “paperwork” (more often, electronic work) for my martial art school, enumerating (interviewing households) for the U.S. Census Bureau, preparing our yard and house for out-of-state visitors, rehearsing for a short film, and squeezing out bits of my novel.

On top of that, my computer was mostly out of commission for several days due to nasty malware. It’s better now.

Census Enumeration

All right, I want everyone in the U.S. to know that the decennial Census isn’t Big Brother’s attempt to spy on and manipulate the lives of all Americans.

Anyone who refuses to complete a census questionnaire because of a belief in Government’s overarching desire to enslave the public should stop using community resources (that fun stuff like city water, sewage treatment, police, and public transportation) and never complain about national politics; or, they should take the easy route and check in to a mental hospital. Seriously.

Another thing: Giving your family’s names and birth dates to government employees sworn to uphold confidentiality in accordance with strict laws isn’t anything like giving that information to Joe Blow off the street who steals identities for a hobby/living. It may feel like it, but the act isn’t the same.

Yard/House

I’ll post pictures of some of my plants when I can. Our huge apple tree is covered in white and pink blossoms, which blend nicely with the snow. Yes, that word is “snow”. Merry Springtime.

My primary bathroom demands renovation every time I walk into it. The broken tile, worn grout, chipped tub, and leaky facet are embarrassing but have to wait another week or two before we can afford the time and money for repairs. In the meantime, I’m looking for advice on how to troubleshoot those repairs. Do you have any stories that might help?

Film Acting

Everything that’s not already in post-production is on hold as of this week. That situation can change at any time. I’m looking forward to completing all of my current projects, because I intend to take a break for a year or so when they are.

DeCo

36,000 of 75,000 words (48%)

This novel draft is taking half of forever to complete. The two scenes I’ve focused on this past couple weeks are the the Suicide Scene and the Forced Execution Scene, so not only is the progress slow but also uncomfortable. At least there has been progress.

Final Comments – Blogs

Hatracker Melanie Crouse started a writing blog, linked in the right sidebar. Please mosey over there when you’re looking for something new to read.

My moseying time is limited, so I’m missing a lot of posts on my favorite blogs. Friends are patient; friends are kind, even when they’re only friends online. I will catch up on blog reading one of these days. In the meantime, I hope y’all are doing well.

Until next time!

4 thoughts on “Ramble

  1. Thanks for the update! I love hearing what you’ve been up to, and loved your commentary on the people’s reaction to the census. I can’t wait to see photos of your yard. And, I’ve been slow on my novel progress as well, but – slow and steady – we’ll get there!

  2. I hardly see the need for snow and apple blossoms to coexist. At least you can take comfort in knowing that this late in the year, the snow won’t last for long!

Leave a Reply

