Review of AnNoWriMo: Week Five

There is no chance I’ll meet my goal of 60,000 words by the end of December 15. I’m now striving for 35,000 words.

At the time of the posting, I’ve written about 21,000 words of new story draft for DeCo. That’s an average of 3.5 pages per business day. This is me frowning at that number…

However, those pages contain many small accomplishments. (Thank you, Christi Craig for the reminder to see successes in all progress.) During AnNoWriMo, I’ve re-evaluated what I thought I knew about my characters’ strengths and weaknesses; decided on details such as the novel’s setting, characters’ surnames, and types of assignments the characters undertake; and realized the quality of my writing has improved since I started working on DeCo.

Just yesterday I looked over a couple scenes written last year. Yesterday’s task was to rewrite those scenes, which were terrible–juvenile attempts to convey a complicated relationship. I believe the rewrites were much better–conveying more emotion as well as information while staying somewhat true to the characters. Of course, I expect to rewrite those scenes again in a couple months. With any luck, I’ll grow as a writer during that time.

In the meantime, I’ll write the best I can, as often as I can. I look forward to holding a completed draft of DeCo.

3 thoughts on “Review of AnNoWriMo: Week Five

  1. Yes, Ann, celebrate those successes. And how wonderful to see that you’re writing had improved. I’m seeing that, too, as I edit some of the oldest passages of my novel. Sometimes it’s embarrassing to read those “juvenile attempts” but how great that we can recognize them, right?

    I’m not going to make my goal for the month either. The Christmas season has just come up too fast and I don’t expect to get much editing done the rest of this month. Oh well, there’s always January. 🙂

Leave a Reply

