Glimpse

Lady in a bliaut and surcoat

Do you ever have those moments when you don’t know what to say, because there’s too much on your mind?

Every time in the past few days that I thought of blogging, that’s what happened to me.

I doubt you wanted to wait several more days for me to sort out my thoughts, so here’s a glimpse into last week.

A family member was attacked and hospitalized near where I live.

Other family members came to stay at my house, for Thanksgiving then for better access to the recovering victim.

I interviewed for a seasonal sales job, helped with Thanksgiving activities, and worked on a student film. (Did you know I act?)

A half-sown medieval French dress that needs to be ready for an event in two weeks changed only in the amount of emotional stress its incomplete state causes.

The need to research regular jobs, take care of the pets, and clean the house persisted.

In addition to the above, of course, was AnNoWriMo. The characters of DeCo faithfully stayed active in my imagination, but I didn’t manage to record much of their actions for the novel.

That was some of my week. Was yours calmer?

4 thoughts on “Glimpse

  1. I sympathize. I seem to stay in a perpetual state of overwhelmedness (is that a word?)

    Sorry to hear of the violence that touched your life.

    What a perfect photo for your post. I did not realize you act. Is that what the dress is for?

    On a personal level, my week was bleak. On a professional level, my week was excellent. I’ve been writing like a crazy. (And sometimes I think I must be crazy to keep writing.)

    I hope this week is better for you.

  2. The meaning is clear, so “overwhelmedness” is a word. That’s the criteria I use.

    I’m grateful that the women in my family are so strong (or stubborn) and willing to fight for life. Otherwise, I would be attending a funeral this week… and that’s a strange thought.

    The dress is for an SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism) event. I’ll be participating in the baronial court, so I must dress nicely. Clothing is a big deal in my barony.

    I don’t make my clothes for acting gigs, if I can help it. When a costume isn’t provided, I buy something that’ll suffice. Period accuracy isn’t as important on a set as it is in some areas of the SCA.

    We’re all crazy to keep writing. Good job on channeling your muse. I hope you have some fun social activities planned to celebrate.

  3. Sorry to hear of violence so close to home. That alone can make a mind cloudy with chaos.

    Hope this next week feels more calm.

    My week flew by. It’s already Friday, and I can’t remember what I got done this week…put out a few holiday decorations and stayed up too late most nights fiddling with WordPress widgets and such 🙂

  4. This week is somewhat calmer. Another family member was hospitalized after an accident, but there’s nothing I can do for her or anyone else. The victim from last week, an aunt, is out of the hospital and recovering, both mentally and physically.

    I still haven’t put up holiday decorations. DeCo and my dress have barely progressed. I guess my biggest accomplishment so far this week was surviving a twelve-hour film shoot, the final shoot for an interesting student short.

    Be careful with widgets. They’re attention-hoarders.

Comments are closed.