Weekend Wordsmith: Predawn Pallor

Did you know there’s a lot of writing prompt sites on the ‘Net?

Another one has inspired me. While Three Word Wednesday provides a trio of words, Weekend Wordsmith uses a single word and a picture as its weekly prompt.

This weekend, the prompts are “pallid” and an overexposed photo of a young woman. Below is my response.


Thoughts flitter past:
translucent butterflies
void of color and pattern.

I am rock,
not the powerful creature
full of energy
that directs
body and mind.

Both rest, waiting.

At dawn,
light creeps into mind’s crevices,
returning life to stone flesh.


4 thoughts on “Weekend Wordsmith: Predawn Pallor

    1. Thanks for responding so quickly. I didn’t want to make the wrong assumption. I’m now attached to the butterfly photo, but I’ll remember your answer for next time.

  1. Oddly, my first thought on reading this piece was that the shape of the poem resembles the face of rough-hewn golem of stone… you need to consider the negative space of the background to see it, or perhaps I just have an overactive imagination… but thinking that the piece is the soliloquay (sp?) of an elemental creature of earth and stone lent it a very weighty and somber air, somehow…

    Thank you for the link, btw! I’ve returned the favor, and look forward to reading more of your work!

    1. Interesting…

      Memories of a short story I wrote (and rewrote and rewrote and continue to rewrite) kept impeding on the original image for this poem. The plot of the short story centers around a man who is cursed into the living form of a stone grotesque. Maybe you’d like that story, if I ever finish it.

Comments are closed.