How to Fight Writer’s Block With a Mirror

A blog called Tales from Mascrandy reminded me of a weapon against writer’s block.

Writing on mirror © Ann M. Lynn

In college, I used a dry-erase marker to write formulae and definitions on my bathroom mirror. The placement meant I couldn’t forget to study them. I left those up for days. As long as I didn’t rub the mirror or allow the buildup of too much condensation, the writing remained.

More recently, I used my bathroom mirror to experiment for a short story. Mid-way, I felt a little weird, and in the tradition of one raised on shows awarding fools, I took a picture.

It isn’t really foolish, though, is it? Anything safely assisting a writing endeavor is a good thing, right?

This method does work for the type of writer’s block formed by taking oneself too seriously.

Which I do too often. I feel that someone (somewhen, somehow) will critique every bit of writing left around too long, and to me, even a jot on a scrap piece of paper feels more permanent than scribbles on a mirror. A quick swipe of a damp paper towel removes mirror markings forever. That impermanence relaxes the invisible critic.

How about you? Have you written on a mirror?

Source:
http://mascarandy.wordpress.com/2009/08/07/methods-in-my-madness/

5 thoughts on “How to Fight Writer’s Block With a Mirror

  1. Nope never even thought about writing on a mirror. Sounds pretty unique to me… I’d say that in itself could make a pretty interesting story. Maybe something to think about there…

  2. Yes, it does make an interesting story…

    I think part of what I enjoy about writing on a word processor is the impermanence of it. When I write with ink I write so much slower. Unless, I am journaling.

    1. Jennifer, I apologize for the delayed response. I took a while to consider why typing into a word processor isn’t easier for me than writing on paper. My best guess: it’s because I used word processors back in the days when mere thoughts of writing made me panic nearly every time.

      I’m glad you mentioned the impermanence of writing in a word processor. Compared to the need to locate a fire, an over-eager dog, or some other form of paper-destroyer, removing words from existence is easier on a word processor. I think writers should consider the advantages and disadvantages of that trait.

Leave a Reply

