A Week in the Life of a Writer

Clear VisionAs I’m lacking good blog ideas at the moment, here is my writerly to-do list for the next week. (Hold back your enthusiasm; I don’t want it breaking anything on the Internet.)

  • Spend about 12 hours editing Odal’s Story (working title). This is for NaNoEdMo.
  • Slow the pace of my short story titled “Odd Jobs”. Hatrack critiquers suggested I give readers the opportunity to breath as they read this story. Perhaps editors also prefer breathing over concise action.
  • Edit/Review a piece of my grandfather’s memoirs.
  • Finish listening to Joseph Campbell’s The Hero With a Thousand Faces (on audio cassette). The trick is not falling asleep. The stories are interesting and the lessons are useful; unfortunately, my body is trained to fall asleep if I don’t move for a certain amount of time. I’ll check out a hard copy of the book from the local library after I’m through the tapes.
  • Finish reading William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White’s The Elements of Style, 4th ed. Though an electronic edition is available for free at  Bartleby.com, I wanted to read the latest paper edition.
  • Start reading either Jim Butcher’s Grave Peril or Ursula K. Le Guin‘s The Left Hand of Darkness. I finished Peter S. Beagle’s The Last Unicorn a few days ago, so I need to start a new novel.

Of course, the above activities will be accomplished between my non-writerly activies: working for pay, cleaning the home, cooking, and socializing.

With any luck, I’ll move through my to-do lists with time to spare.

One thought on “A Week in the Life of a Writer

Leave a Reply

