NaNoEdMo 2009

Rowboats - Click for sourceI’m loading the boat and trying not to worry about the journey ahead.

I may ride in the boat alone, though I would prefer company. Sure, others are preparing their own boats and some take the journey regularly, although at a slower pace. That’s not the same as company.

March 1 starts National Novel Editing Month (NaNoEdMo), the evil cousin of NaNoWriMo. I signed up for NaNoEdMo to push myself to finish a novel I started writing last June. Every NaNoEdMo participant is automatically assigned 50 hours of editing a novel of at least 50,000 words within the month of March.

I’m told the editing process often takes a year. One year compared to one month. Hmm.

I’m really impatient, can you tell? There’s a reason. I have to rush past fear or it grabs hold and fights to stay attached. I’m terrified of editing a novel, and this activity should leave fear in the dust, with perhaps acceptance in its place at my side.

In the next few days, I plan to read as many blogs like The Blood-Red Pencil as I can find. I also need to finish my rough draft. Four days to push-off!

One thought on “NaNoEdMo 2009

Comments are closed.